My Visit to Deaf-Run KFC in Egypt!

For YouTube Users: Click here 

 

Hi! My family went to Egypt for a New Year’s vacation. It was a very fun and enjoyable experience. We visited the first KFC restaurant that is run by Deaf employees in Egypt! I think you will enjoy seeing a vlog about it, so here it is!

Abu Simbel: City in southern Egypt near the Sudan border

Aswan: A city in Egypt on the Nile River

Cairo: Capital of Egypt

This is a map of places I visited in Egypt!

 

dpef-1.jpg

 

89 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Deaf dating said,

    Great travel! But your pic can’t see

  2. 2

    Jehanne said,

    Deaf dating – please try again. You can click the link to the YouTube video. Hope you can see it now

  3. 3

    White Ghost said,

    That is so inspiring! Why don’t you submit this video to the KFC’s corporation?

    That is a good example that any hearing-impaired person to run the “chain” business within the USA.

  4. 4

    C said,

    That is so cool that you went to Egypt! Looking forward to more stories on your trip there~

  5. 5

    Terri Watts said,

    Wow, Impressive KFC runs by Deaf… That’s great!
    I like that..

    Applause for them!

  6. 6

    Awesome! Thank you for sharing that with us. :)

  7. 7

    Jehanne said,

    Yes, I agree with White Ghost. I wish America has more Deaf-run food chain businesses! The sign in Egypt KFC said First Hearing Impaired but I wish they said Deaf instead!

    • 8

      Randy Fisher said,

      Hello Jehanne,

      It is Paulette Fisher’s husband Randy, I never seen any deaf who could run the KFC in anywhere I am impressed a deaf Egyptian could run the KFC business with their deaf employees.
      I plan traveling to Egypt this coming summer and would like to visiting the Deaf own KFC. To ask you Could you please email the address if you do have.

      Thanks, Randy

  8. 9

    deb ann said,

    It’s so thrilling to see them signing.

    Yes, my deaf friend used to be a manager at KFC in my hometown.

    Thanks so much for showing it to us!

  9. 10

    Misha said,

    Wow! That is so awesome!

    I’ve read the stories/blogs about KFC being run by deaf employees in the past but never saw a video of them until you put up that video. That is most wonderful and innovative! I’d like to see more videos on those kinds like that.

    Glad you had a great vacation to Egypt!

    Misha :)

  10. 11

    ASL Risen said,

    Wow! Thank you so much for showing your inspiring trip video! I agreed with you that KFC should have put “First Deaf” on the sign instead of using that hearing impaired!

  11. 12

    B.A.D. said,

    WOW!

    That is way beyond too COOL :-)

    Maybe….you consider to set up one …GO for it, if Egypt can do it, so can America – you be the first ;-)

    Glad you all had a good time there!!

  12. 13

    Aidan Mack said,

    Hi,

    I am so jealous…. I haven’t been to Europe. *my face is red* You are ahead
    of me. I gotta to catch up to you. Smile! Awesome about KFC. I will definitely
    stop by when I have a chance. Thanks for sharing. Your champ reporter.

    Aidan

  13. 14

    Diane said,

    Truly Awesome! Why not here in America! Thanks for sharing this with us!

    Diane

  14. 15

    Bradley Goodyear said,

    WOW, I can’t believe it is so amazing but “hearing imparied” dont make a sense. I wish Deaf should put the word on the kFC on it instead hearing imapired. oh well.

    Thanks for shaing. I already spread the email of this vlog to all my firneds in Canada.

    Bradley

  15. 16

    CJ said,

    Great show! Awesome! Thanks for sharing!

  16. 17

    Deaf Pixie said,

    Jehanne,

    I agree with you about put a Deaf instead of Hearing Impaired. It is seem hard to educated to people in their Eypt ..

    Thanks you for a sharing, Right on Aidan you should be reporter.

  17. 18

    Deaf Mater said,

    Awesome! thanks for sharing… and one of my favorite vlogs to watch! way to go!

  18. 19

    Jean Boutcer said,

    Babae! (Wonderful in Latin.) How awesome for a little girl like you to travel to one of world’s most ancient wonders like Egypt! I know that
    you must have been overwhelmed to see the Pyramids! I am now
    looking forward to watching your next vlog about Eygpt. I so very much want to share your vlog with my friends, so I am going to submit
    your link to them!

    Merci beaucoup, Jehanne!

  19. 20

    seekgeo said,

    Wow!! All I can say WOW!

    That is one definitely amazing video, you did awesome job! These Deaf people is what we need here showing how sweet they are and very easy to get along with to each other, I wish we have people like them here. I can see why all customers love them. Thanks so much for showing this to us!

    That is right, if they can do it then we might as well can do it here in America, no kidding! My whole family used to run KFC when I was little so it sure bring me back some good memories.

    GREAT video and I look forward to hear more of your experience in Egypt!

    -SG

  20. 21

    NightOwl said,

    I guess I’m going to be the first male commenter to this.

    Awesome vlog, I could only think of Dawn Sign Press as the only company run by deaf in USA….not any others in USA? 22 Deaf at KFC is pretty lot.

    Looking forward to your video on its’ deaf school.

  21. 22

    Suey said,

    Well with all the negative news about Middle East, and to see Deaf run KFC resturant in Egypt show us they are people too just like us.

    Very cool!

  22. 23

    chillygurlz said,

    that is soo awesome u got to go see the KFC resturant run by deaf people in Eqypt… thanks for sharing ur experience…

  23. 24

    Mia said,

    Very interesting! I can see how they communicated what they want simply put on that board, Just pinpointing board for the foods what they like to order. Seem you enjoyed with your travel in Europe! Thank for show us your travel video.

  24. 25

    Gunsbut said,

    Hey I heard that KFC in Pakitson opened long time ago but Can u check who was first to own KFC by DEAF or HOH

    ONE DAY IT WOULD TURN TO CANADA OR USA AS WELL

  25. 26

    Coach Creech said,

    I believe it was your best vacation trip ever you had? I can imgaine. :-)Thanks for sharing and I would love to go visit there as soon. Coach Creech

  26. 27

    SnoopyFreak02 said,

    WOW, Egypt has own KFC by deaf run.. Thanks for sharing with us.. You are champ reporter!! :-) Keep your vlog!!!

    I have heard about that story but I did not know where was that until you showed your vlog.. wow!!! What a impressed!!!

  27. 28

    ocean1025 said,

    Thank you for sharing this vlog with us, Jehanne!

    Like Aidan and others, I’m jealous also! Egypt is a place that I have always wanted to visit. Hopefully I will get that chance in the future.

    I hope you got a chance to visit some of the ancient ruins in Egypt, such as those at Thebes, Giza, etc. as they are quite interesting and tell us a lot about the history of ancient Egypt.

    I look forward to seeing more of your vlogs about your vacation!

  28. 29

    Bobby Lopez said,

    Hey Jehanna,
    Wow!!
    I am shocked that sounds good and Thumbs up!!
    WHY DO NOT TO DEAF KFC IN USA HUH
    Thanks for sharing,
    Bobby L. :-)

  29. 30

    Kim Cook said,

    It is really very wonderful trip and great experience for you .. Thanks for sharing your trip.. Great to see you smile :)

  30. 31

    moi said,

    AMAZING! Thanks for posting this! <3

  31. 32

    Michelle D said,

    Wow.. I’m sure you’ll be enriched by that experience! I envy you! Thanks for sharing that with us! It’s awesome!

  32. 33

    Rene Visco said,

    Awesome!

  33. 34

    numenokh said,

    Ok, I’m thoroughly ashamed here! lol

    I mean, I’ve lived in Egypt all my life and yet this is the first time I know about that KFC branch. Heck, I didn’t even know there were hot-air balloon rides! *blush*

    I don’t know much about sign language, tho, so I couldn’t really understand what you were saying in that video. My best friend is pretty good at it, but I can’t get a hold of her :-S… Could you, like, make subtitles for it or something, Jehanne? By the way, where is that branch? These folks look much friendlier than any KFC employees I’ve ever seen! lol

  34. 35

    Jehanne said,

    Glad you guys enjoyed my vlog! Just letting people know: Egypt is in North Africa, but it is considered to be in Middle East. Thanks!
    P.S. That restaurant is in central Cairo in the Zamalek neighborhood near the Sheraton hotel. Hope some of you go there!

  35. 36

    Rick M. said,

    WOW!! Thank for sharing your treasure experience in Cairo! Thumbs up!!

  36. 38

    Alexa said,

    lucky you! i had touched south Africa i want to touch Egypt too its so cool that they have deaf KFC that you can interview with the manager and cool wallpapers too

    your friend alexa

  37. 39

    Lori Whynot said,

    Hi there!
    Wow… I was so happy to read your video about Egypt. Exciting for you. I went there too for 3 weeks in May 2006- met Deaf people and went to the Deaf school in Cairo. However, I never saw the KFC run by Deaf people even though I was there in Zamalek and Cairo for so many days. Too bad.
    Did you go to the mosques? and the big market area?
    I also met a Deaf man in Alexandria and me and my Deaf friend had turkish coffee and chatted with him using international sign and gesture.
    It is too bad that the Cairo Deaf school is so oral, teaching some Deaf children to speak and lipread. But, some of the Deaf teachers and staff there were very nice and used beautiful sign language.
    I am a long-time interpreter and am new blogger/vlogger. Soon my Vlog will be ready for posting. I think I will post some pictures on my blog about my Egypt trip and if I can learn how to post video from the Deaf School in Cairo. Thank you for sharing your story about Egypt!

  38. 40

    Marta said,

    It’s very awesome this video and blog!

    From Barcelona, Catalonia (northeast of spaniard country)
    ;)

    Marta Vinardell-Maristany

  39. 41

    [...] My Visit to Deaf-Run KFC in Egypt! [blip.tv] For YouTube Users: Click here  [...]

  40. 42

    Joey Baer said,

    Thanks Jehanne for sharing. It is always good seeing more on what Deaf people do in this world! I was in Cairo 17 years ago but that KFC didnt exist by then. I look forward to your vacation vlogs.

  41. 43

    LaRonda said,

    What a rich experience you’ve brought to us here in America from Cairo! This vlog is one of the most unique vlogs you’ve done. Keep up the great work!

    ~ LaRonda

  42. 44

    Michael James Cardosi said,

    Hi Jehanne ,

    I have heard about it but it’s first time that I watch your vlog about it and in LIVE! Amazing!
    To see how you try communicate with the workers must be exciting for you!

    Maybe someday, you will be a famous Deaf newscaster!

    Looking forward to watch you share your experiences while traveling in Egypt!

    Jimmy

  43. 45

    [...] Deaf employees in Egypt My Visit to Deaf-Run KFC in Egypt! Jehanne’s Vlogs [...]

  44. 46

    tar2006 said,

    This is AWESOME! I believe this is good experience for you. You have so much an opportunity ahead of you. Keep it up! :-)

  45. 47

    Dean Kelly said,

    Hi Jehanne…awesome vlog!!! I would like to meet you someday soon. Jan Delap is my cousin. Smile!

    Dean

  46. 48

    Tim said,

    wow.. way cool !!

  47. 49

    hana said,

    Fascinating!!! thank you for sharing!!! They made it look so easy taking orders. :)

  48. 50

    DE said,

    DeAfinitely cool! Thanks, Jehanne, for doing this and being such a great Deaf ambassador to the world :) Here’s to many more years of your vlogs.

    DE

  49. 51

    Staci Dakides said,

    This is so awesome!! Why not in the future?? Its only opportunity for many deaf and hoh to have a job in the USA ??

  50. 52

    Keith said,

    I am happy for deaf-run who created a KFC in Egypt. I can’t imagine about it.
    But, there are “hearing impaired” is not correct for the deaf and hard-of-hearing people. I prefer more for the deaf OR the deaf and hard-of-hearing.

  51. 53

    Yvonne Jones said,

    This was just wonderful!! What a great experience for you and your family. Just amazing how every time you think people are so cut off from each other you see just how well we really can communicate if we just try!!!!

  52. 54

    Barb DiGi said,

    Thanks for sharing! You surely made a fine young reporter! We have young reporters in some TV shows and Jr. Scholastic magazines and you should be one of them! Have you considered contacting Jr. Scholastic about your visit?

    I had to forward this link to teachers who teach Social Studies/Deaf Studies. This video is surely a great visual resource for the students! Love it!!! I can’t wait to see more of your video clips!!

  53. 55

    Christine E. said,

    Sorry to disappoint you all, but this is really old news ! Why, I knew all of this way before you while I was living in Egypt.

    I am american born and deaf (hard-of-Hearing ) myself..and proud to be married to an Egyptian.

    While , living in Egypt it was in the Egyptian newspaper and in the media.

    This was over 5 years ago.

    For some of you , it would be excited to hear about other countries how different things are.

    Thank you.

  54. 56

    Christine E. said,

    I am sorry to say this But your WRONG ! Egypt is consider to be in Africa not MIDDLE EAST !

    Asked any egyptian who lives there they will tell you AFRICA not middle east.

    Egypt is consider the MOTHER of other countries such as MIDDLE EAST in case you do not know the history. Egypt is where it all started in the pharoh’s times and mose’s time.

    Then people spread into other section of the land which is now called MIDDLE EAST.

    Please becareful what you say about something that is not actually true cause you are insulting eygptian ppl of their land.

    I know their culture well do to I lived there and speak fair arabic and married into the Egyptian family and had an eygptian wedding with their customs.

    If you want to know more be I happy to share the TRUTH with honestly. If I can not answer the question or concern my husband can.

    Thank you

  55. 57

    Mark said,

    I enjoyed your fantastic vlogs. Thank you for sharing it with us.

    Christine E. You need to chill. Egypt is widely regarded as an important political and cultural nation of the Middle East. You should check your facts, too. See this link.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Egypt

    No need to talk like you did to a young lady. “Old news” and ” Your WRONG”. Can’t you say things postively and nicely?

    Jehanne, keep up your wonderful work. Ignore Christine E.

  56. 58

    Mark said,

    Geography ( from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Middle_East )

    The Middle East defines a geographical area, but does not have precise defined borders. The modern definition of the region includes:Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, the Palestinian territories, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.

    Egypt, with its Sinai Peninsula in Asia, is considered part of the Middle East, although most of the country lies geographically in North Africa.

    According to international media, North African nations without Asian links, such as Libya, Tunisia and Algeria, are increasingly being called North African.

  57. 59

    john said,

    you lucky you did go kfc in egypt i hope you fun??

    :Djohn:D

  58. 60

    todos la vie said,

    Wow!That’s really cool! They’re a nice bunch of people who made the time to talk to us and to teach some signs from their area. I’m tickled pink! :-) Look forward to more of your vLogs. :-)

  59. 61

    Linda Dodd said,

    Awesome! It is great to have KFC in Egypt. Maybe one day I will visit your country when I visit my best friend. Hope my dream will come true.

  60. 62

    Ken Davis said,

    Hi Jehanne,

    May I have your video clip about First Deaf KFC? If so, I will put this video clip into http://www.deafnewspaper.com

    Contact me at editor@deafnewspaper.com

    Ken Davis
    Founder/CEO
    Deaf Newspaper, LLC
    http://www.deafnewspaper.com

  61. 63

    CARLOS said,

    Hello friend who I see q as well, and I am carlos torrelly Peruvian and cusco, I am deaf

  62. 64

    Brian Riley said,

    Great job! Phenomenal…

  63. 65

    Grace said,

    Very interesting to see vlog about Egypt! I live in town called “New Egypt” and I liked seeing vlog about the REAL Egypt.

    Very good.

    Thanks.

    Grace

  64. 66

    Kristofer said,

    Jehanne,

    Thank you for sharing with us! I really enjoyed that awesome videoclip! I already linked to this blog entry in my swedish blog. :)

    So, keep up the good work. I’m looking forward to your new vlogs!

  65. 67

    marianne said,

    Hello!

    My name is marianne, and i learn French Signe Language. I don’t understand ASL. You video is very interesting And I would like to share this information with others french deaf , so please, could you translate your video?

    Thanks you!

  66. 68

    Bushra said,

    Hi there,

    I enjoyed watching this video. I am appericated with it.

    My pakistan friends told me that some deaf work at KFC in Rawalpindi, Pakistan. I will visit there someday.

    I am glad that KFC is running by deaf in Cairo, Egypt.

    Best Regards,

    Bushra

  67. 69

    Kamran said,

    i am work KFC

  68. 70

    mohammed said,

    good morning all deaf of the world
    wel come to egypt nice to see u i am so happy , im deaf from egypt in alexandria.
    my name mohammed abou zahra

    7/8/2008

  69. 71

    sourd said,

    Hello.
    I’m sourd, japanese Deaf.
    Let me know Deaf-run KFC in Egypt address.

    thanks.

  70. 72

    ridor9th said,

    FANTASTIC video!

    R-

  71. 73

    Maged Pasha said,

    Dear all deaf in the world

    My name is Maged from Egypt, I am a deaf.

    I saw in the KFC restaurant in Dokki – Cairo and deaf work at KFC in Cairo, Egypt and I was very happy in KFC .

    My E-mail is : maged_palma@live.com

    Best Regards,
    Maged

  72. 74

    Monika said,

    Hello, I am Monika, from Hungary.
    I will go to Egypt at September 15.
    I like go to DEAF KFC.
    Please give me DEAF KFC in Cairo address?
    Please write my email: nickie84@gmail.com

    Hugs, Monika, from Hungary…

    See you soon! :)

  73. 75

    ~*Dani*~ said,

    Hi all,

    my name is Daniele. I live in Toronto, Ontario Canada.

    I am intrigued about deaf-based food franchise “KFC” rain in Cairo, Egypt. that’s impressive!

    also, I am currently looking for “deaf” travel group by deaf agency or something? because I would love to visit Egypt, Israel and Jordan. since I wanted to see Giza, pygramids, shiynx and especially King Tut Tomb. why Israel, I found it so picturesque and so many historical sites there( Gold Dome Nazerth church, and stone walls( put notes in it) so on. because of those countries is oldest ( Pharaoh’s times, Cleopatra’s time and Mose’s time)
    Jordan, sure.. I want to explore dead sea.

    I just wanted to know if you guys know any deaf travel group that have a package trip to those countries or any countries such like Asia, Africa and Baltic states, any… anything would help such like suggestions, idea, so on.

    thanks!!! :-)

    -~*Dani*~

  74. 76

    Mahmoud said,

    I found ur blog when I was searching for articles about KFC
    I didn’t understand the video
    but I have this feeling that u were happy and I really like ur spirit
    keep up the good work
    and as an Egyptian I wanna say “I’m glad that u like it here and I hope u can visit egypt again, and also I’m glad that there’s a restaurant like this in egypt”

  75. 77

    Jehanne said,

    Thanks for commenting, guys!

    Mahmoud- I am sorry that there is no transcript, but I am happy to explain what vlog is about. That KFC is run by deaf people and almost all of employees are deaf. -Jehanne.

  76. 78

    Sharif said,

    Hiya, I am going to Egypt in 2 days and would like to visit this place. Where is this KFC located?

  77. 79

    Jehanne said,

    The Deaf-run KFC is a 2-minute walk from the Sheraton Towers Casino Hotel in Doqqi, Cairo. I am sorry I don’t have the exact address. You can ask around at the hotel and the neighborhood and people will point where to go. Have a good trip!

  78. 80

    Sharif said,

    Bummer, I didn’t see your post as I was so busy getting ready for the trip. It turned out I didn’t have time to make the trip to that area as we were staying near Cataract Pyramid Resort which wasnt very close to the Sheraton. I had an awesome trip. Didn’t meet any deaf folks tho but didnt expect to as we were cycling cross Egypt to Sudan.

  79. 81

    Hasan said,

    thank you so much for this topic, in fact i am Egyptian and i live in Egypt. i did not know that we have such a great place in Egypt…

    i wish you best of luck, and thanks for your effort for deaf ppl.

  80. 82

    THOMAS said,

    09 October 2009

    I just returned from a trip to Egypt and enojoyed every moment incuding the heat – on my first night in Cairo i discovered KFC just around the corner from the Phaorah Hotel, I found the staff friendly and service excellent – before leaving I called in to say my good-by’s and presented them with a cake – I hope one day I can revisit Cairo. PEACE AND GOOD HEALTH TO MANAGER AND STAFF AT KFC CAIRO (DOKKI) – WISH YOU A HAPPY LIFE:

    Thomas – Australia

  81. 83

    Jessica Mak said,

    That’s good. But is it the first KFC deaf-operated? The manager in this video said he work for 18 years (as at New Year 2008). That’s mean KFC has operated by Deaf more than 20 years… But Malaysia has KFC fully-deaf operated restaurants too.. The first KFC in Kuala Lumpur in 15 Nov 1986, the deaf community know about this. The 2nd and 3rd in Sabah & Sarawak in year 1996. I don’t know which is one the first KFC deaf operated restaurant – Egypt (unknown year) or Malaysia (15 Nov 1986)?

  82. 84

    Malaysian said,

    Hello everyone, there also the Deaf KFC runned by deaf worker in ASIA which is Malaysia, Singapore, Pakistan if I am not mistake. :D

  83. 85

    [...] My Visit to Deaf-Run KFC in Egypt! January 2008 84 comments 3 [...]

  84. 86

    Kia said,

    omg woow is she deaf i dndnt look at the vid. if there was on !!!!!

  85. 87

    bobby joe harris said,

    WOW WOW i have never seen this before its wonderful seeing egyptian deaf working at kfc there its awesome, where is this at cairo or in abu simbel city?? i am curious i want to see them someday when i have the chance to go i am deaf myself sure would love to meet egyptian deaf people there smile any suggestions

  86. 88

    [...] do this, give jobs to people with down syndrome which they can handle. There’s actually a KFC run by deaf employees in [...]

  87. 89

    Shailesh said,

    I live job kfc at ahmedabad.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

